Confessions: After daily Mass or by request
The first post-Penal church in the parish of Killeshandra was built by Rev. John Pronty (1730-1787) at Corranea, not far from a Penal Mass Rock in the townland of Drumyouth. This small thatched building was extended and slated by his successor, Rev. Edmund O’Reilly sometime in the 1790s. It continued in use down to 1925 when the foundation stone of the new Church of the Immaculate Conception was laid. On 10 October, 1926 the new Church was consecrated by Dr. Patrick Finnegan, Bishop of Kilmore. Also present on the occasion was Dr. Shanahan, Bishop of Southern Nigeria, and founder of the Holy Rosary Sisters, Killeshandra. The new Church was designed by Mr. W. H. Byrne and Son, Dublin, and the contractor was Mr. Felix O’Hare, Warrenpoint.
This beautiful Gothic church was built from local green stone and set off with Newry granite dressings around the doors and windows. The stone, sand, lime and rubble was supplied by the parishioners. This was the first of two splendid churches built by Rev. James Judge in the parish. He deserves to be remembered as one of the great church-builders of this century in the Diocese of Kilmore and the churches of Corranea and Arva stand as monuments to him. The special High Mass on the occasion was celebrated by Rev. P.V. Rudden, President, St. Patrick’s College, Cavan, assisted by Rev. P. O’Donoghue, C.C. Killeshandra, and Rev. Felix McCabe, St. Patrick’s College, as Deacon and Sub-Deacon. The sacred music was rendered by the Cathedral choir under Rev. W. Buchanan. A special sermon was preached by Rev. P.J. Gannon, S.J., Miltown Park, Dublin.